Climate Action Advisory Committee, 2018-2019

In October 2015, MIT’s Senior Officers released the Institute’s Plan for Action on Climate Change. This plan embodies the fundamental agreement across the MIT community that the problem of climate change, the subject of serious work at MIT for decades, demands society’s urgent attention, and that given the Institute’s mission, history and capabilities, MIT has a particular responsibility to lead. The goal of the plan is “to minimize emission of carbon dioxide, methane and other global warming agents into the atmosphere, and to devise pathways for adaptation to climate change, through the active involvement of the MIT community, proactively engaged with industry, government, academia, foundations, philanthropists and the public.”

Vice President for Research Maria Zuber provides general oversight of the plan's implementation, which involves many offices, programs, initiatives, and labs at MIT. She also chairs the Climate Action Advisory Committee (CAAC), which provides advice and recommendations to help ensure the plan’s success. You can find an overview of the CAAC here.

The 2018-2019 academic year members of the CAAC are listed below.

  • Maria Zuber, Committee Chair
    Vice President for Research
    E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics, Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences 
  • Jim Gomes, Committee Staff
    Senior Advisor, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Bruce Anderson
    Member, MIT Corporation
  • Bob Armstrong
    Director, MIT Energy Initiative
    Chevron Professor of Chemical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Avilash Cramer
    Graduate student, Health Sciences and Technology
  • Alix de Monts
    MIT Alum (’13, SM ’18)
  • John Fernández
    Director, Environmental Solutions Initiative
    Professor, Department of Architecture
  • Charlene Kabcenell
    Member, MIT Corporation
  • Chris Knittel
    Director, Center for Energy and Environmental Policy
    William Barton Rogers Professor of Energy Economics, Sloan School of Management 
  • Thomas Malone
    Founding Director, Center for Collective Intelligence
    Patrick J. McGovern Professor of Management, Sloan School of Management
  • Soma Mitra-Behura
    Undergraduate student, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Nicole Moody
    Graduate student, Department of Chemistry
  • Amy Moran-Thomas
    Alfred Henry and Jean Morrison Hayes Career Development Assistant Professor of Anthropology
  • Julie Newman
    Director, Office of Sustainability
  • Curt Newton
    Acting Publication Director, MIT OpenCourseWare
  • Bethany Patten
    Senior Associate Director & Lecturer, Sloan Sustainability Initiative
  • Ron Prinn
    Director, Center for Global Change Science
    Co-Director, Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change
    TEPCO Professor of Atmospheric Science, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences 
  • John Reilly
    Co-Director, Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change
    Senior Lecturer, Sloan School of Management
  • Christina Rudzinski
    Scientist, Lincoln Laboratory
  • José Ruipérez-Valiente
    Postdoctoral Associate, MIT Teaching Systems Lab & The Education Arcade


If you are interested in more information about MIT Climate Action, please contact us at